What we do

The Budget and Financial Reporting department is primarily responsible for:

  • Providing budget and financial support to responsibility centers via a dedicated liaison program (Responsibility Center Liaisons).
  • Preparing quarterly and annual financial statements for the University in accordance with GAAP for presentation to the Budget and Audit Committees of the Board of Trustees.
  • Analyzing actual results and providing quarterly projections to the Budget Committee and senior management.
  • Preparing the University's annual operating budget, and assisting in the development of and reporting on the annual and long-term capital budget plan.
  • Administering budget funding throughout the year related to revenue-sharing arrangements or other approved initiatives.
  • Preparing mandated external financial reporting related to the University including: The finance portion of the Integrated Post-secondary Education Data Survey (IPEDS), Commonwealth Financial Disclosure, and the Commonwealth Appropriation Request. 
  • Managing accounting and reporting functions for debt and property, plant, and equipment.
  • Preparing and maintaining required disclosures for leased property and equipment.
  • Coordinating the preparation of a monthly financial management report provided to the CFO and others in senior management, which includes various analyses such as cash flow, comparisons to budget, summaries of reserve balances, accounts receivable aging, and research activity.
  • Completing the monthly and annual general ledger closing processes, as well as system access and security maintenance.
  • Preparing financial surveys and questionnaires related to the University.

Staff Directory

Kathy P. Tosh

Assistant Controller, Budget and Financial Reporting
Email: ktosh@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-5747

Brian Christopher

Senior Financial Analyst / Reporting
Email: bchristopher@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-7505

Jason Cicco

Financial Reporting Manager
Email: jcicco@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-9949

Judith DeLeo

Capital Accounting Manager
Email: jdeleo@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-5456

Valerie Doyle

Financial Administrator, Budget / Special Projects
Email: vdoyle@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-4094

Howard Goodman

Senior Financial Analyst / Reporting
Email: hgoodman@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-8956

Vanessa Guenther

Operating Budget Manager
Email: Vanessa.Guenther@pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 383-7491

Brenda Hussey

Director, Financial Reporting
Email: bhussey@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-8091

Tammy Kammenzind

Lease Accounting/Reporting Specialist
Email: tkammenzind@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-1104

Cathy Lombardi

Senior Financial Analyst / Reporting
Email: clombardi@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-6581

Leah Melvin

Senior Financial Analyst / Budget
Email: lmelvin@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-2569

Sharon Sobol

Senior Financial Analyst
Email: ssobol@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-6068

Sherri Tozzi

Senior Financial Analyst
Email: stozzi@cfo.pitt.edu
Phone:  (412) 624-6072

Address:
3015 Cathedral of Learning, Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Hours:
Monday to Friday
8:30am to 5:00pm

Phone: (412) 624-6050
Fax: (412) 624-6019